Church Fasts

The church recognizes 6 primary fasts:

1. The Great LentForty eight days prior to Easter.

2. Fast of NinevehThree days starting on the Monday of the third week prior to the Great Lent.

3. Advent: Fifteen days starting on the 15th of December.

4. Fast of the Apostles: Three days  starting on the 29th of June.

5. Assumption of the Virgin Mary: Five days starting on the 15th of August.

6. Wednesday and Friday Fast: Every Wednesday and Friday around the year, except the 50 days between Easter and Pentecost and any feast of the Lord or the Virgin Mary.