Bible Facts

The Bible contains 2 sections:  Old Testament and the New Testament
The Bible Contains 66 books in Total.
The Syriac Orthodox church also recognized the Apocrypha which includes 11 books

Old Testament:
– Old Testament is all about God’s Promise for Salvation
– Old Testament has 39 books.    Longest is Psalms,  shortest is Obadiah
– First 5 books called the Pentateuch was written by Moses:

Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers and Deuteronomy
– History Books:  Joshua, Judges, Ruth, 1 Samuel, 2 Samuel, 1 Kings, 2 Kings, 1 Chronicles, 2 Chronicles, Ezra, Nehemiah, Esther
– Wisdom Books:  Job, Psalms, Proverbs, Ecclesiastes, Song of Solomon
– Prophetic Books:  Isaiah, Jeremiah, Lamentations, Ezekiel, Daniel, Hosea, Joel, Amos, Obadiah, Jonah, Micah, Nahum, Habakkuk, Zephaniah, Haggai, Zechariah, Malachi


– Also called the Deuterocanonical books: The following are not in the standard Bible but recognized by  the church:  Wisdom, Sirach, 1 Baruch, 2 Baruch, Jeremiah, 1 Maccabees,  2 Maccabees, Tobit, Judith, Esther, Daniel (Story of Susanna)

New Testament:

– New Testament is all about God’s Fulfillment of His promise through Jesus Christ
– New Testament has 27 books.  Longest is Acts, shortest is 3 John
– First 4 books is called the Gospels which means “Good News” which tell about Jesus’ life and His salvation:

Matthew, Mark, Luke, John

– History of the Early church is recounted in the book of Acts of the Apostles
– The Epistles are letters written to churches or Christians for instructions and pronouncement of Jesus:
Romans, 1 Corinthians, 2 Corinthians, Galatians, Ephesians, Philippians, Colossians, 1 Thessalonians, 2 Thessalonians, 1 Timothy, 2 Timothy, Titus, Philemon, Hebrews, James, 1 Peter, 2 Peter, 1 John, 2 John, 3 John, Jude

– Apocalyptic book is the book of Revelation which reveals to us God’s ultimate salvation plan of eternal life.